• Korea Konsult
    Journeys to another world
  • Korea Konsult
    Scandinavian service & trust
  • Korea Konsult
    Europe's Leading Tour Operator to the DPRK
  • Korea Konsult
    Swedish Travel Guarantee Member
    • Svenska/Swedish
    • English
    • Français/French
    • Deutsch/German
    • Русский/Russian

    Exhibitions in Pyongyang

    Flower Exhibition | Three-Revolution Exhibition

    Flower Exhibition

    The flower exhibition cultivates and displays Kimilsungia and Kimjongilia - two flowers named afer Kim Il Sung and Kim Jong Il. The Kimilsungia-Kimjongilia Exhibition Hall was opened in April Juche 91 (2002). Kimilsungia and Kimjongilia Festivals have been traditionally held on major occasions including the birthdays of President Kim Il Sung and General Kim Jong II.

    The purple, smaller flower is the Kimilsungia and the red one is the Kimjongilia. The actual National Flower of the DPRK is the Magnolia, which is white. The Kimilsungia flower was presented by an Indonesian Botanist on April 15th 1975 (Juche 64 in North Korea) on occasion of President Kim Il Sung's Birthday. The Kimjongilia flower was presented by a Japanese botanist in on February 16 1988 (Juche 77) on the occasion of General Kim Jong Il's Birthday.

    Three-Revolution Exhibition

    The exhibition primarily showcases the three revolutions of Kim Il Sung, the ideological, technical, and cultural. It is in the Ryonmot-dong area, and its vast expansive grounds also displays many other ideologies of Juche idea: heavy industry, culture, and agriculture. The central building has a shape resembling a spherical planet with rings, similar to the planet of Saturn. The dome itself also houses a planetarium In the complex, there are six exhibits which detail North Korea's advances in electronics, heavy industry, agriculture, class education, and technology.

    The museum was first established as an non-permanent Industrial and Agricultural Exhibition between 1946 and 1956, then improved to be the current Three Revolutions Exhibition in 1983, and further renovations took place in 1993.